CAVAL supports a wide range of professional activities, services and committees for member libraries, and engages in collaborative research programs with a number of other organisations.

Many of CAVAL's services are available to all clients however membership entitles you to substantial discounts and other benefits.

CAVAL's members and owners are the following 11 Australian Universities:

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Deakin University
  • Federation University Australia
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of New South Wales
  • Victoria University


Member Services

  • CAVAL co-ordinates the academic library Reciprocal Borrowing Program, which enables higher education staff and students a simple and effective means of borrowing from the print collections of all participating libraries. 

  • CAVAL owns and operates the purpose-built CARM (CAVAL Archive and Research Materials) storage facility on behalf of its members, preserving and providing access to over a million research volumes deposited into a shared collection by member libraries for the benefit of future generations of scholars. 
  • CAVAL also provides member-oriented training and mentoring programs, seminars, research programs and other events, and co-ordinates a number of interest groups to offer the staff of member libraries with professional development and networking opportunities.